Please nuke the owner of spe.atdmt.com

December 27, 2009 · Filed Under Hack, Malware, ad network, advertising, amazon.com · Comment 

I don’t quite know what “spe.atdmt.com” is. I think it is an adserver of some sort. I don’t know who owns it (if you are the owner or works in the company or a company running it – please report to me), but I intend to find out.

This adserver is completely mucking up my internet use. Time after time I see my machine not moving on to the next site I have clicked because it is waiting for “spe.atdmt.com”.

And recently I was completely unable to go back to the previous page while surfing on amazon.com. I read about a particular book and wanted to go back. Several times I was unable to do it, and had to first reload the page I was on and the quickly press back, and then it worked. But then, in the end, even this little trick stopped working, and I had to leave amazon entirely.

So nuke the bastards that slow down my browsing and probabaly that of millions of other people. I hope Amazon, Google and other corporations do something about this – this can’t be in their interest either.

spe.atdmt.com – you suck! Big time!

PS: There are hundreds of people complaining about spe.atdmt.com on the net. robtex.com has a little info about it:

Summary
spe.atdmt.com.edgesuite.net has two IP numbers. They are on the same IP network. spe.atdmt.com cnames to this hostname. This hostname cnames to a1521.x.akamai.net. fr.bebo.com, blogs.abc.es, www.bebo.com, www.esri.com, rmd.atdmt.com and at least 100 other hosts point to the same IP. spe.atdmt.com.edgesuite.net is hosted on two servers in United States.

Do big corporations hack blogs to shut them up?

April 10, 2008 · Filed Under Badware, Blogging, Blogging software, Google, Hack, Malware · Comment 

I have had a couple of strange experiences lately. I’ve written a few things that are more than a little critical of a couple of huge corporations. Since then, I have twice had my blog infected with malware or badware, so that Google have blocked people from going directly to my blog from Google search results.

I am not critical of Google. I think that they did the right thing, given the presence of malware on my blog.

But the thing is, I run several blogs. This is the only one that has had malware. And now this blog has had it twice. And this is the only blog where I’ve criticised huge corporations. I can’t prove anything, I have no idea who did it, it is just strange. But I am cynical. And I am don’t really believe in coincidences. Not all that much.

I run a WordPress installation. So, the first time Google told me I had malware, I was running WordPress 2.3.2. I looked through all my posts. Then I looked through my PHP-files. I found a JavaScript that looked strange in a theme file. So I did a clean upgrade to 2.3.3 and changed theme.

A few days later, the malware was back. This time I upgraded to WordPress 2.5, and changed theme again. The theme is clean, the installation is clean, Aximet is there, only clean widgets and plugins. Just as the first time. I hope WordPress 2.5 makes this install more secure. This has cost me lots of time and work. I hate it.

Who knows. I am suspicious. I may be too suspicious. Have anybody else experienced anything similar?